Both parties must be present to apply for a marriage license and must provide a valid ID and proof of social security number. If previous marriage ended in divorce, the party must provide a copy of the final decree of Divorce. A 60 day waiting period is required in the State of Alabama unless a couple is remarrying each other. If divorced outside of Alabama, proof of divorce including the waiting period laws for that state must be presented.
The minimum age requirement to marry is 16 years old in the State of Alabama. People over the age of 16 and under the age of 18 must have parental consent to marry.
Marriage Licenses are issued from Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. Phone: (334) 874-2516
Effective January 1, 2016, the total cost for a Marriage License is $75.00 and is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance.
Marriages performed by the Judge of Probate must be scheduled ahead and is $60.00.
A Blood Test is no longer a requirement in the State of Alabama.
We do not accept personal checks.